Skip to content

Zen Energy solar deal to bring NSW councils to net zero

25 New South Wales will be powered by 100 per cent renewable energy, following an agreement made with renewable energy retailer Zen Energy.

The agreement, brokered by the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC), ensures energy supply from three New South Wales solar farms operated by Zen Energy.

The deal, worth $180 million, will deliver over 214GW hours of electricity per year to 25 councils across the state.

It also involves the supply of electricity to over 300 major council facilities, more than 210,000 streetlights, and more than 3,000 small sites managed by councils.

Hornsby Shire Mayor, Philip Ruddock, said that Hornsby Shire Council had opted for 100 per cent renewable energy under the agreement.

“It is critical that local government appropriately addresses climate change, and this agreement is consistent with Council’s Sustainable Hornsby 2040 Strategy and Climate Wise Plan,” Mr Ruddock said.

“By sourcing 100 per cent renewable energy, we will be on our path to meet our target of net zero carbon emissions, to ensure that we remain environmentally sustainable into the future, especially as we continue to provide services to our growing population.”

Ku-ring-gai Mayor, Jeff Pettett, said the agreement with Zen energy had been over two years in the making, but was ‘well worth the wait’.

“I think our residents will see this as a great step forward in Ku-ring-gai’s goal to reach net zero by 2040,” Mr Pettett said.

“It also means Ku-ring-gai Council will meet its 2025 target for 100 per cent renewable energy three years earlier than planned.”

The 25 councils participating in the agreement collectively represent over three million people, almost 38 per cent of New South Wales’ population.

The agreement commences in 2022 and runs until 2026, with an option to extend to 2030.

Overall, 83 per cent of the councils’ total energy supply will be covered by renewable energy from the Moree, Hillston and Nevertire Solar Farms, all located within New South Wales.

The participating councils are: Bayside, Burwood, Campbelltown, Canada Bay, Canterbury-BankstownFairfield, Georges River, Hornsby Shire, Hunters Hill, Inner West, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, Liverpool, Mosman, North Sydney, Parramatta, Port Stephens, Randwick, Ryde, Singleton, Sutherland, Tamworth, Waverley, Willoughby and Wollahra.